Requirements for Consideration

Centers of Excellence must have well-established tracheostomy teams, Passy Muir Valve Policies and Procedures, and must have been using the Valve independently in clinical practice for greater than three years.

  • An identified multidisciplinary team for tracheostomy care and Passy Muir® Valve application, including physicians (e.g. intensivist, pulmonologist, otolaryngologist, pediatrician, neonatologist) nurse practitioners, nurses, respiratory therapists, speech-language pathologists, and other clinical staff, as appropriate.
    • A multidisciplinary team for patients with tracheostomy established for a minimum of 3 years.
    • Appropriate documentation on each team member to illustrate their qualifications and contributions to the team.
  • Utilization of the Passy Muir Valve in-line with the ventilator, when these patients are available.
  • Written policies and procedures regarding Passy Muir Valve use.
  • Team and clinical staff participation in Passy Muir educational opportunities (e.g. in-services, webinars, self-study CEUs, etc.).
    • An ongoing method for staff education and training regarding the assessment and application of the Valve (e.g. yearly competency, training checklist, supervised placements on mannequins and patients, in-service, webinar, etc.).
    • Documentation of the education and training in which each team member and other clinical staff have participated.

Application Process

The rigorous application process to become a Center of Excellence involves a multi-level review process. The applying facility must submit documents to support the following phases and to confirm the practice of and commitment to a high standard of patient care:

Phase One:

  • Online application (via jot form).
  • Facility’s Passy Muir Valve Policies and Procedures.
  • Curricula Vitae or resumes and a 50-word bio for each member of the facility’s multidisciplinary tracheostomy team, including their disciplines, related competencies, and roles on the team.
  • Facility’s philosophy of care.

Phase Two:

  • Facility’s method(s) for monitoring ongoing education.
  • Competency checklists for team members.
  • Additional supplemental materials that assist with the review, such as publications, presentations, QA studies, data, and testimonials.
  • Patient video(s) demonstrating the team’s participation in the application of a Passy Muir Valve, both on and off the ventilator (please use the Video Checklist to assist with requirements).

Phase Three:

  • On-site visit of the facility, which includes:
    • Meeting with the team.
    • Tour of the facility.
    • Observation of the team with a patient.

This application process occurs in three phases. With the successful completion of a phase, the facility will be asked to submit for the next phase. The Center of Excellence status is granted based upon exceptional execution of all the above criteria, and it continues year-to-year, as a facility maintains this high standard of care.

Should you become a Center of Excellence, a part of your commitment is to facilitate ongoing multidisciplinary team management of your patients with tracheostomies. Your team must document that the members are continuing to participate in tracheostomy education and are familiar with the facility’s Passy Muir Valve Policies and Procedures.

In addition, Passy Muir conducts an annual review to confirm that the required, high quality, and multidisciplinary team management of patients with tracheostomy, necessary to be a Center of Excellence, have been maintained year-to-year. Passy-Muir conducts a Centers of Excellence recertification review every three years. The review process will begin one year after a facility is granted the Centers of Excellence designation.


Have questions or concerns? Please contact Dr. Kristin King at